University of Rajshahi opened its doors in 1992 for mass communication and journalism education establishing the ‘Department of Mass Communication’ under the faculty of Social Science with a single professor, Dr. Jahangir Kabir as the founder Chairman. The number of enrolling students of the department was 34.

The department was located then at a small room beside the Teachers’ Lounge of Mamtaz Uddin Kala Bhaban and also shifted to Shahidullah Kala Bhaban without any reserved classroom until moving into Rabindra Kala Bhaban in 1995.

The department’s first Honours Degree was awarded in 1997 (examination was held in 1996, but scheduled for 1994) and Masters Degree was awarded in 1999 (examination was held in 1998, but scheduled for 1995).

In 2007, name of the department was changed as “Mass Communication and Journalism”. And even though so much has been changed over the last 25 years; the department continues to uphold the values started with: wisdom, virtue and friendship.

The Honors course was of three years before 1998, now it is of four years. Masters Course is of one year. Since 2006-2007 sessions, the department switched over from traditional to grading system in publishing the results of the students to cope with the universities of home and abroad. The department introduced two-year Evening Masters Course in 2014 and 4-month long Certificate Course on Journalism in 2016, especially for the media professionals.