Welcome to the Department of Urdu

Message from Chairman

Professor Dr. Muhammad Shahidul Islam

The Department of languages set out its academic activities under the Faculty of Arts of University of Rajshahi in the year 1962. As many as four languages were taught in this department namely Arabic, Urdu, Persian and Sanskrit as subsidiary languages at the very outset. In the year 1975 in this department one year certificate course in modern Persian, German and Russian Languages was introduced later on Japanese Hindi and Urdu were also inducted in this program. In 1978 Arabic department broke away from the department of Languages. From the academic session of 19 86-87 M.A courses in Urdu and Persian languages were started and afterwards in Sanskirit M.A course was also given effect to in the year 1993-94.

Latest Events

রাজশাহী বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়, ১৩ ফেব্রুয়ারি ২০২২: রাজশাহী বিশ্ববিদ্যালয় (রাবি) ক্যাম্পাসে ট্রাক চাপায় আহত শিক্ষার্থী রায়হান প্রমানিক রিমেলের জন্য রাজশাহী সিটি কর্পোরেশনের মাননীয় মেয়র এএইচএম খায়রুজ্জামান একটি